FAQ: Income

Detailed explanations of Art of War game rules
User avatar
e_i_pi
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:38 pm

FAQ: Income

Postby e_i_pi » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:25 pm

FAQ: Income

In Art of War games, income is generated at the start of every round, and applied to each Empire (player) still playing in that game. Income is used to deploy additional Troops on a Territory. There are a number of ways in which income can be generated. Here's a brief explanation of each method:
  • None - Income is not generated on a per turn basis. Income can only be generated through Zone bonuses.
  • Flat Rate per Turn - A set income is generated for each Empire.
  • Increasing Rate per Turn - A set income is generated for each Empire, which increases by a (different) set rate per turn.
  • Per Territory - Income is generated on a per territory basis for each Empire.
  • Per Territory with Minimum - Income is generated on a per territory basis for each Empire, with a minimum rate regardless of territory count.
  • Per Territories - Income is generated on a per x territory basis for each Empire, rounded down to the nearest multiple of x territories for that Empire.
  • Per Territories with Minimum - Income is generated on a per x territory basis for each Empire, rounded down to the nearest multiple of x territories for that Empire, with a minimum rate regardless of territory count.
  • Proportionate Territories - Income is generated proportionate to the number of starting territories for the Empire.
  • Proportionate Territories with Minimum - Income is generated proportionate to the number of starting territories for the Empire, with a minimum rate regardless of territory count.

In particular, here is an explanation of how and when Territory and Zone bonuses are calculated and alloted to Empires:

Territory Bonuses
Territory income bonuses are generated at the start of a round, not at the start of a player's turn. This balances out fairness when playing 1v1 on the world map for instance, and the income setting is "300 per 3 territories". If the income wasn't generated at the start of the round, then the first player to play would get an unfair advantage. Income is held in each player's Treasury, ready for spending when it is their turn.

The number of territories used to calculate your income is based on how many territories you hold at the start of your turn less any territories that have been transferred to you by allies in that round. Therefore, there is no income benefit to transferring territories to allies during your round in an attempt to generate more income for them on their turn. Income generated from a territory can only go towards one player per turn.

Zone Bonuses
A Zone income bonus is only generated when every territory in a Zone is held by your Faction. If it is a singles game, then you need to hold the entire Zone. If it is a team game, then your Faction has to hold the entire Zone. An Empire does not need to hold the entire Zone, just the Faction. Zone income is alloted to a player when it is their turn, each round. Zone income is never generated on the first round of a game, to promote fairness.

When multiple Empires of the same Faction hold a Zone, the Zone income is split as evenly as possible. For example, if there is a Zone "Great Britain" which consists of territories "Britain" and "Ireland", and each territory is held by a different Empire in the same Faction, then the income is split 50/50. The split is proportionate to the number of territories held by each Empire. If your Empire holds 1 of 6 territories of a Zone that your Faction owns, then you will get 1/6th of the income for that Zone on your turn.

In order for a territory to count towards your Zone income, you need to have held it for an entire turn. As with territory income, the bonus from a territory can only count once, even as a territory in a Zone. So, in the above example, if one player transfers "Britain" to another player, giving them the entire Zone, the second player will still only generate 50% of the income on their next turn, as the first player has already generated the income component for "Britain" in that round. Once the second player finishes their turn, then on their next turn they will generate the entire income for the Zone.


If you have any questions about income, feel free to ask in this thread. If you spot any bugs in the game to do with Income, whether it be territory or zone, please post it in the Bug Reports forum.

Regards,
e_i_pi


Return to “Rules and FAQs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest